top of page

ITRA partners with Red Bull Ireland for Red Bull Sprint 7s

Dublin City will be treated to a festival of rugby next weekend as Red Bull Sprint 7s comes to town on Saturday September 23rd in partnership with the Irish Tag Rugby Association. A rugby tournament like no other, Smithfield Square will play host to a spectacular display of tries, thrills and spills that only this distinctive format can deliver.

Red Bull Sprint 7s takes the best parts from the sports of Rugby Sevens and Tag to deliver a unique experience for both players and fans. Squad sizes are capped at seven players, with four players (two men and two women) on the field at all times.

Each game lasts seven minutes, ensuring a frantic and fast-paced exhibition of rugby which will kick off at 1.00 p.m.

The relentless nature of the Red Bull Sprint 7s means that there are no conversions following a try. Tries scored by a male player count for one point, and those scored by a female count for three. However, during the seventh and final minute of the match, the Power Play comes into effect. Each try scored during this period counts for double, meaning players will be kept on their toes until the final whistle.

The tournament is broken down into two pools of four teams, with the top two in each pool progressing to the semi-final stage. An epic finish to the day will see the top two sides battle it out to claim the Red Bull Sprint 7s National Title, before the action concludes at 5 pm.

For this event, Red Bull has partnered with both Dublin City Council and the Irish Tag Rugby Association (ITRA). ITRA operates tag rugby leagues throughout Ireland and recently hosted the Tag Rugby World Cup at the University of Limerick.

Smithfield Square will be transformed on the day, with a grass surface to be laid down surrounded by a fan area. Players looking for the wiiings they need to fly up and down the pitch can enjoy a can of Red Bull, with food and music are also available to spectators present on the day. With eight of Ireland’s best tag-rugby teams signed up, it promises to be an action-packed day not to be missed.

The eight participating teams are:

  • Knights (Limerick)

  • Cubs (Cork)

  • Munster Warriors (Limerick)

  • North Dublin Vikings (Dublin)

  • Emerald Warriors Naoise (Dublin)

  • Springboks (Dublin)

  • Rabbitohs (Dublin)

  • Exiles (Dublin)

305 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page